FAQs Perkins Loans
FAQs Perkins Loans
How do I make payments on my Perkins loan?
You have several payment options, visit the loan servicer website.
Your University of Oregon Perkins loan is available on-line at: www.heartlandecsi.com or by phone at 888-549-3274. The UO two-digit school code is 7v. Your account number is your UOID number or social security number.
Mail your payment with the statement and/or indicate your account number on your check to:
University of Oregon
c/o Heartland ECSI
P.O. Box 718
Wexford, PA 15090
I paid my loan installment early, but I got a bill anyway. Is that an error?
No. Our system treated your payment as an extra payment and billed you as usual. If this is not what you intended, call ECSI at 888-549-3274 and request the payment be applied to your installment.
Can I apply for a Perkins Loan?
The following link provides an explanation of how Perkins Loans are awarded: https://ba.uoregon.edu/content/how-to-apply-for-financial-aid
Where are all my school loans?
Your Federal loan lenders can be found at: https://studentloans.gov/myDirectLoan/index.action
Perkins loans are a campus based program, the lender is the school you attended. Your University of Oregon Perkins loan is available on-line through the loan service provider at: www.heartlandecsi.com or by phone at 888-549-3274. The UO two-digit school code is 7v.
My loan is billed at $40.00 per month. May I send $480.00 to pay the next 12 installments early?
No. Our system will treat your $480.00 payment as an extra payment and bill you as usual. Call ECSI at 888-549-3274 to request the extra funds be placed in suspense to cover future installments.
I want to pay-off my loan as soon as I can. May I pay more than the amount billed?
Yes. Perkins loans, UO Student Loans, and Long Term Loans do not have a pre-payment penalty.
How can I get transcripts and registration holds released?
A hold is placed on transcripts and registration on past due loans. To clear the holds, all due amounts must be paid in full. If a borrower is unable to remit full payment as due, contact the Student Loans Department to discuss payment arrangements. If satisfactory payment arrangements are made, transcripts may be released directly to a prospective employer. Transcripts will not be released directly to the borrower or colleges or universities until the account(s) has been paid current.
How do I consolidate my Perkins loan?
We cannot recommend a loan consolidation lender, but we can provide contact information to get you started. Call 1-800-557-7392 or go to: https://studentloans.gov. Remember to include your Perkins loan in the application for consolidation.
Is it always a good idea to consolidate a Perkins loan?
No. Your Perkins loan has cancellation and deferment provisions that may not carry over to the new consolidated loan. You may lose some or all of your grace period, too. Read your Perkins loan master promissory note or contact us for details.
I changed my mind. Can I get my Perkins loan consolidation reversed?
No. Your consolidation lender paid-off your Perkins loan at the University of Oregon and now your Perkins loan is part of the new consolidated loan. We will return the pay-off payment to the consolidation lender and reinstate your Perkins loan if, and only if, the consolidation lender made a mistake by adding your Perkins loan to the consolidation loan application without your permission. You need to contact your consolidation lender and have them send us a letter explaining the error and asking us to return the payment.
Why didn't I get a bill this month for my Perkins loan?
Some Perkins loans are billed quarterly, not monthly. As long as your Perkins loan is current, you should get one bill every three months. If your quarterly Perkins loan is in default, you should get a bill every month.
Can I change my Perkins payments from quarterly to monthly?
Quite possibly, contact our office at 541-346-3171.
Will you change my due date to later in the month?
No. Perkins loan quarterly installments are due January 1st, April 1st, July 1st, and October 1st. Monthly loan installments are due on the first of the month.
My Perkins loan is billed at $90.00 per quarter, is it OK if I pay $30.00 per month? My Perkins loan is billed at $120.00 per quarter, is it OK if I pay $40.00 per month?
No. Your loan will be in default for 2 months during the quarter. You can change your billing cycle to monthly by calling ECSI at 888-549-3274 and requesting your Perkins loan payment be changed to monthly billing.
I have been paying my Perkins loan quarterly installments on time. What will happen if I pay my next quarterly installment a few days late?
If you pay on time, each quarterly payment will pay three months of interest. If you pay a few days late, your payment will pay four months of interest and not enough principal. The amount of principal still due will be in default. You will also receive a bill out of cycle for the past due amount.
Will you send me a receipt for my loan payment?
No. You can get a receipt for your payment if you pay in person at Cashiers. You can view the account payment history on the ECSI website.
Do you have additional questions or need more help with your Federal Perkins loan?
Effective February 28, 2016, please use the following information to contact the FSA Student Loan Ombudsman Group
Via on-line assistance: http://studentaid.gov/repay-loans/disputes/prepare
Via telephone: 877-557-2575
Via fax: 606-396-4821
Via mail: US Department of Education
FSA Ombudsman Group
P.O. Box 1843
Monticello, KY 42633